Call for Abstracts

Researchers, writers and scholars from all disciplines and in all stages of their careers are invited to submit proposals for panels, papers and posters that offer diverse approaches to conventional fields of gerontology and critical aging studies, new insights into assumed styles of life and thought, imaginative reflections on the meanings and representations of aging, challenging perspectives from cross-cultural and global experience, and activist strategies to take back aging from those powers and practices that relegate it to the margins of social existence and citizenship.

 

 

Abstract Details and Dates

All submissions open June 15, 2018.

 

Conference language: English

 

Panels will feature four papers on the same theme in a facilitated discussion. Panel abstracts must be submitted by an identified organizer and summarize the purpose and contribution of the proposed panel in no more than 250 words.

 

Please include a title, all panel member's names, and affiliations. The submission must also include four panel paper abstracts including titles, author(s) name(s), and a summary of the research design and findings. These abstracts must also be no longer than 250 words each. 

 

In summary, for each panel submission please include a panel abstract as well as abstracts for the four papers to be featured, totalling five abstracts for each panel submission.

 

Papers will feature a presentation by its author(s). The papers abstract must include a title, author(s) name(s), and a summary of the research design and findings. This abstract must also be no longer than 250 words

 

Posters will be featured throughout the conference. The poster abstract must include a title, author(s) name(s), and a summary of the research design and findings. This abstract must also be no longer than 250 words

 

Please email your abstract for a panel, paper, or poster to aging@trentu.ca and include the words TrentAging2019 Panel/Paper/Poster Submission in the subject line of your email. Make sure your document is saved in .doc or .docx formats. The submission must include your name, professional title (e.g. Professor, MA Candidate, Post Doc researcher), and affiliation (Institution/Organization name and location).

 

In response to popular demand, the deadline for Panel abstract submissions has been extended to August 15, 2018.

Notifications will be sent back by September 15, 2018.

 

Paper abstract submissions are due by November 1, 2018.

Notifications will be sent back by December 15, 2018.

 

Poster abstract submissions are due by November 1, 2018.

Notifications will be sent back by December 15, 2018.

 

 

Program committee (panel/paper abstract review)

 

Chair: Professor Mark Skinner (Conference co-chair, TCAS past director, markskinner@trentu.ca)

 

Professor Suzanne Bailey (NANAS chair, sjbailey@trentu.ca)

 

Professor Sally Chivers (TCAS director, sallychivers@trentu.ca)

 

Associate Professor Loredana Ivan (Chair, ENAS Conference 2021, Bucharest, loredana.ivan@comunicare.ro)

 

Professor Emeritus Stephen Katz (NANAS representative, skatz@trentu.ca)

 

Associate Professor Ulla Kriebernegg (ENAS chair, ulla.kriebernegg@uni-graz.at)

 

Professor Roberta Maierhofer (ENAS representative, roberta.maierhofer@uni-graz.at)

 

Associate Professor Cynthia Port (NANAS representative, cport@coastal.edu)

 

Associate Professor Aagje Swinnen (ENAS representative, a . swinnen @ maastricht university . nl)

 

 

 

 

“Like NANAS and ENAS, TCAS is mandated to generate critically informed academic dialogue about the challenges facing older people and aging communities. Your participation in this conference is proof of the vitality of this project. I'm pleased to welcome you to our University."  
- Dr. Neil Emery, Vice-President of Research and Innovation, Trent University

Trent Centre for Aging & Society

Trent University

1600 West Bank Drive

Peterborough, ON, Canada

K9L 0G2

00-1-705-748-1011 ext. 6440

aging@trentu.ca

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
Organizing Sponsors

© TrentAging2019